Copyright guidelines, resources to determine fair use, and current news.
Last Updated: Oct 24, 2012
URL: http://guides.library.millersville.edu/copyright
Print Guide
- Copyright Exceptions for Instructors eTool
The U.S. Copyright Code provides for the educational use of copyrighted material without the permission of the copyright holder under certain conditions. Use this free online tool to find out if your intended use meets the requirements set out in the law. This tool can also help you collect information detailing your educational use and provide you with a summary in PDF format.
- The Copyright Genie
OK, so the Copyright Genie can't grant copyright wishes, but it can take the magic out of copyright by:
1.) Helping you find out if a work is covered by U.S. copyright
2.) Calculating its terms of protection, and
3.) Collecting and publishing the results (as a PDF) to save for your records or further vet with a copyright specialist.
- Fair Use Evaluator
This tool is designed to help you better understand how to determine the "fairness" of a use under the U.S. Copyright Code. The tool will help you collect, organize & archive the information you might need to support a fair use evaluation by providing you with a time-stamped, PDF document for your records, which could prove valuable, should you ever be asked by a copyright holder to provide your fair use evaluation and the data you used to support it.
- Section 108 Spinner
Section 108 of the U.S. Copyright Code allows libraries and archives, under certain circumstances, to make reproductions of copyrighted materials without the permission of the copyright holder. This simple tool can
1.) help you determine if your reproduction is covered by Section 108 and
2.) collect information to support your use of the exception.
- American Library Association Copyright Page
The Digital Age presents new challenges to fundamental copyright doctrines that are legal cornerstones of library services. Libraries are leaders in trying to maintain a balance of power between copyright holders and users, in keeping with the fundamental principles outlined in the Constitution and carefully crafted over the past 200 years. In this role, we closely follow both federal and state legislation and make our voices heard when our issues are moving.
- Center for Intellectual Property
The Center for Intellectual Property provides education, research, and resources for the higher education community on copyright, academic integrity, and the emerging digital environment. The Center accomplishes its mission through the delivery of workshops and conferences, online training, consultations on campus, and electronic and print publications, and it provides continuous updates on legislative developments at the local, state, national, and international level.
- Columbia University Libraries Copyright Advisory Office
The Copyright Advisory Office (CAO) was established at Columbia University in January 2008, and its mission will surely evolve in the coming years. Its central function, however, is to address in an innovative, creative, and pragmatic manner the relationship between copyright law and the work of the university community. In all of our research, teaching, and service, we are constantly creating and using a rich variety of materials that are protected under copyright law.
- Copyright Crash Course
From University of Texas and covers:
Copyright's role in the flow of research and teaching; Building on others' creative expression; Copyright in the library; and University administrative interests in copyright.
- Copyright for Librarians
The goal of the project from Harvard is to provide librarians in developing and transitional countries information concerning copyright law. More specifically, it aspires to inform librarians concerning:
Copyright law in general
The aspects of copyright law that most affect libraries
How librarians in the future could most effectively participate in the processes by which copyright law is interpreted and shaped.
- Know Your Copy Rights
This site looks at copyright from the perspectives of all key academic stakeholders and suggests what each group can do to enhance their copyright practices and advance academic interests.
- Millersville University Copyright Policy
Millersville University Copyright Policy, 1992
- United States Copyright Office
Copyright basics, law & policy, and how to register a work.
- Creative Commons
Creative Commons is a nonprofit organization that enables the sharing and use of creativity and knowledge through free legal tools.
- SHERPA/RoMEO
Publisher copyright policies & self-archiving information
- SPARC
SPARC®, the Scholarly Publishing and Academic Resources Coalition, is an international alliance of academic and research libraries working to correct imbalances in the scholarly publishing system. Developed by the Association of Research Libraries, SPARC has become a catalyst for change. Its pragmatic focus is to stimulate the emergence of new scholarly communication models that expand the dissemination of scholarly research and reduce financial pressures on libraries.
- SPARC - For Authors
Author addendum to your publishing agreement.
 Prof. Krista Higham Contact InfoEmail: krista.higham@millersville.edu
Phone: 717-871-5511
Office: Osburn 210 Send Email |
- Ask a Librarian
We’re here to help - in person, email, IM/chat, phone, text & personal appointments.
- Request It (E-ZBorrow)
The fastest way to get a book that Millersville does not have. Items usually arrive within 4 business days at the library circulation desk in Gerhart Hall.
- Request It
Request full-text articles, chapters/sections of books and conference proceedings. Or look for the green squirrel when you're in a library database to Request It. Articles usually arrive within 2 business days.
- Renew your stuff
Renew any items that you have checked out of the library, books borrowed through E-ZBorrow, or items obtained through the Request It! service.
- Course Reserves
Access items for your course added by your instructor. Books and DVDs can be checked out at the library circulation desk in Gerhart Hall. Get
login help for course reserves.
- Journals by Name