This is the "Home" page of the "ENGL 316 - Business Writing ( Rosenthal )" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Contact Us

Unviversity Website
Facebook
In Person
Email
Call
Chat

ENGL 316 - Business Writing ( Rosenthal )   Tags: business writing, engl  

Last Updated: Feb 17, 2014 URL: http://guides.library.millersville.edu/engl316-rosenthal Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Evaluating Information

Regardless of where you are getting your information, you need to be aware of a few simple attributes about whatever information you are using.

When evaluating information, here are five helpful considerations:

Currency: timeliness of the information.

Relevance: importance of the information for your need.

Authority: source of the information.

Accuracy: reliability, truthfulness, correctness.

Purpose: reason that the information exists.

Advertising & Product Endorsements

Resources for research and analysis of advertising campaigns, super bowl advertising, gender in advertising, and product endorsements.

  • Business Source Complete
    Use the SUBJECT field in the drop down menu.

    SUPER Bowl (Football game) advertisements (1,200+)
    ADVERTISING campaigns (66,500+)
    GENDER role in advertising
    ENDORSEMENTS in advertising (2950+)
    CELEBRITIES
    EMPLOYEE health promotion (3400+)
    GREEN marketing (1,600+)
    STEREOTYPES (Social psychology) in advertising (320+)
    Work environment
  • Communication and Mass Media Complete
    Use the SUBJECT field in the drop down menu.

    SEX role in advertising (35+)
    ADVERTISING campaigns (9,100+)
    ENDORSEMENTS in advertising (490+)

    Keywords / Phrases:
    "Super bowl advertising" (3,200+)
  • International Directory of Company Histories
    Entries typically contain 3-10 pages of narrative, major events, sometimes chronological timeline of events, and a short bibliography for further reading.
  • Encyclopedia of Major Marketing Campaigns
    Provides several page summaries of marketing campaigns of hundreds of well known (and some not so well known) companies. Entries frequently include suggestions for further reading and citations to related marketing campaigns by the same or other companies.

Internet Marketing

  • Business Source Complete
    Use the SUBJECT field from the drop down menu:

    INTERNET marketing
    AUTOMOBILE [ there are A LOT of ways to take the automobile aspect ]
    AUTOMOBILE Dealers
    AUTOMOBILE Industry

    Use the NAICS field drop down with:

    441110 for "New Car Dealers"

Cultures and Commerce

  • A to Z the World : Country Guides
    Covers the culture, customs, food, religion, language and points of interest for 175 countries. Also includes maps.

    Of particular interest is the "Business Culture" section of each country entry. The Business Culture section addresses major or unique aspects of the business culture of the country along with information on decision making, meetings, negotiating, entertaining, attire, women in business and the workweek.
  • Business Source Complete
    Use the SUBJECT field in the drop down menu:

    EMPLOYMENT in foreign countries
    DIVERSITY in the workplace
    EMPLOYEE training
  • SocINDEX
    Provides extensive coverage of sociology, social work, anthropology, criminology, political science and related topics.

    Use the SUBJECT field in the drop down menu:

    CROSS-cultural communication

Corporations and the Arts

  • Business Source Complete
    Use the SUBJECT field in the drop down menu with:

    ART as an investment
    ART objects as an investment
    ANTIQUES as an investment
    INVESTMENT policy
    CORPORATIONS -- Charitable giving (1650+)

Technologies

  • Computers & Applied Sciences Complete
    Use the SUBJECT field in the drop down menu with:

    RADIO frequency identification systems
  • Access Science
    AccessScience synthesizes vast amounts of information, and organizes it to give you fast, easy and accurate access to authoritative articles in all major areas of science and technology. More than 8500 scientific topics are explained, 110,000 terms defined, using more than 15,000 diagrams and graphics to explain ideas and topics. Continuously updated including the latest terms, images and videos.
  • RFiD Journal
    RFID Journal was launched on Mar. 1, 2002, as the world's first independent media company devoted solely to radio frequency identification and its many business applications. Learn more . . .
 

Library Search ( nearly everything )

Library Search ( nearly all library resources )

MLA Citation Style

MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers
by Joseph Gibaldi. NY: The Modern Language Association of America, 2003. 6th ed.
Contains guidelines for doing research, giving citations, and preparing bibliographies.
Accessibility: Reserve -- LB2369 .G53 2003 ( 4 Hour Circulation )

Subject Librarian

Profile Image
Prof. Scott R. Anderson
Contact Info
E-Mail: scott.anderson@millersville.edu
Phone: 717-871-2377
Office: Library, Lower Level 102A ( LL102A )

Library Services

  • Ask a Librarian
    We’re here to help - in person, email, IM/chat, phone, text & personal appointments.
  • Request It (E-ZBorrow)
    The fastest way to get a book that Millersville does not have. Items usually arrive within 4 business days at the library circulation desk in McNairy Library.
  • Request It
    Request full-text articles, chapters/sections of books and conference proceedings. Or look for the green squirrel when you're in a library database to Request It. Articles usually arrive within 2 business days.
  • Renew your stuff
    Renew items that you have checked out of the library or items borrowed through E-ZBorrow.
  • Course Reserves  
      
    Access items for your course added by your instructor. Books and DVDs can be checked out at the library circulation desk in McNairy Library. Get login help for course reserves.
  • Journals by Name ( title search )

© 2012 Millersville University Library, PO Box 1002, Millersville, PA 17551-0302 Contact Us

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip